Cozen O’Connor: Webinar: Distracted Driving: A Legal, Legislative & Regulatory Overview

Webinar: Distracted Driving: A Legal, Legislative & Regulatory Overview

Location

Webinar


Date & Time

Start Date: 11/01/2017
Start Time: 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. ET

Download Calendar Appointment

 

Elliott Feldman, of Cozen O'Connor's Subrogation and Recovery department, Howard Schweitzer, Robert Freeman, and Kaitlyn Martin, of Cozen O'Connor's Public Strategies department, and Dexter Hamilton and Thomas Leonard, of Cozen O'Connor's Commercial Litigation department will host a webinar titled, "Distracted Driving: A Legal, Legislative & Regulatory Overview." Distracted Driving incidents have resulted in thousands of fatalities, hundreds of thousands of injuries, and tens of millions of dollars in auto physical damage losses. Notwithstanding a patchwork of state and local regulations, reports from National Safety Council are that 28 percent of vehicle crashes are caused by texting and cellphone use alone. The challenge for the insurance industry is to combine resources so as to work, as a coalition, to explore enactment of meaningful litigation.

The presenters will discuss:

  • A review of case law relating to the legal responsibilities of manufacturers and providers
  • Technology available to restrict utilization of a mobile device while operating a vehicle
  • An overview of the current statutory framework
  • The legislative/regulatory approach towards implementing blocking technology to prevent distracted driving induced collisions



Attorneys

Elliott R. Feldman

Chair, Litigation Section; Co-Chair, Subrogation & Recovery Department

efeldman@cozen.com

(215) 665-2071

Robert Freeman

Government Relations Principal

rfreeman@cozen.com

(202) 463-2515

Dexter R. Hamilton

Member

dhamilton@cozen.com

(215) 665-2166

Thomas A. Leonard

Associate

tleonard@cozen.com

(215) 665-7244

Kaitlyn Martin

Government Relations Adviser

kmmartin@cozen.com

(202) 747-0760

Howard Schweitzer

Member

hschweitzer@cozen.com

(202) 912-4855

Related Practices