A First Look at the Title IX Regulations: Summary of Key Provisions and Practical Implementation Considerations

Location

Webinar


Date & Time

Start Date: 05/21/2020
Start Time: 1:00 pm
End Time: 2:30 pm EST

 

This will be the first in a series of webinars hosted by Cozen O’Connor’s Institutional Response Group, a team of dedicated lawyers focusing exclusively on improving institutional responses to sexual and gender-based harassment and violence in the educational context. The series will track the key elements of the Title IX Regulations through the life cycle of a Title IX case from intake through appeal.

This first session will focus on understanding, at a high level, the significant changes required — and challenges posed — by the Title IX regulations. As educational institutions are diving into the 2000+ pages of the regulations, the preamble, and the comments, key questions arise regarding the practical details of implementation. This session will frame the musts, the shoulds, and the mays and help educational institutions develop a plan for revising policies and procedures to incorporate required elements while still embodying institutional values.

Subsequent webinars will focus on specific aspects of the regulations, as written and as applied,  based on IRG's work with hundreds of public and private educational institutions across the country. Each session will focus on a concentrated subject matter area and provide advice for effective implementation: policy frameworks; scope, jurisdiction, notice and intake; initial assessment, supportive measures, emergency removal, and formal complaints; investigation protocols; informal resolutions; hearing and adjudication procedures – structure, format, cross-examination and evidentiary considerations; corollary considerations: impact on employee cases, providing advisors, and intersections with Title IX, Clery/VAWA, and state law.

CLE is approved in PA, NY, TX, IL, and CA.
All other jurisdictions will be applied for upon request.

 




Attorneys

Leslie M. Gomez

Vice Chair, Institutional Response Group

lgomez@cozen.com

(215) 665-5546

Maureen P. Holland

Member

mholland@cozen.com

(215) 665-5548

Peter C. Lim

Counsel

plim@cozen.com

(215) 665-4133

Helen Park

Counsel

hpark@cozen.com

(215) 665-2196

Devon Turner Riley

Member

driley@cozen.com

(215) 665-4626

Adam M. Shapiro

Counsel

ashapiro@cozen.com

(215) 665-2009

Gina Maisto Smith

Chair, Institutional Response Group

gmsmith@cozen.com

(215) 665-5540

Michael J. Stackow

Counsel

mstackow@cozen.com

(215) 665-5576

Joseph A. Tate, Jr.

Counsel and Director, Electronic Discovery & Practice Advisory Services

jtate@cozen.com

(215) 665-4629

Related Practices


Related Industries