Sean Carter, member in the firm’s Philadelphia office, aids Senate Judiciary Committee Members with regard to new bill concerning Federal Court pleading standards

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Sean Carter, at the request of Senator Arlen Specter (D-Pa.), served on the panel that advised members of the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee with respect to the drafting of the Notice Pleading Restoration Act of 2010, a bill introduced in response to the Supreme Court's controversial decisions in Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Twombly and Ashcroft v. Iqbal.

Other notable members of the panel included: Stephen B. Burbank, the David Berger Professor for the Administration of Justice at the University of Pennsylvania Law School; William N. Eskridge, Jr., the John A. Garver Professor of Jurisprudence at Yale Law School; Arthur R. Miller, university professor at the New York University School of Law; John Payton, president and director-counsel, NAACP Legal Defense Fund and David L. Shapiro, the William Nelson Cromwell Professor Emeritus of Law at Harvard Law School.


Related Practice Areas

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from Cozen O'Connor

Enter your City or Zip.

Probably shouldn't change this:
Sign up to receive alerts, publications, and event / webinar invites.

By submitting your contact information, you are giving Cozen O'Connor consent to contact you via email.