Philadelphia Municipal Democratic Primary Results  

May 17, 2023


As of 8:00 a.m. on Wednesday, May 17, 2023, 89% of the city’s divisions have reported election results. Most notably, Cherelle Parker has won the Democratic Party’s nomination for mayor. However, some races are still too close to call.

  • Cherelle Parker—32.94%
  • Rebecca Rhynhart—22.66%
  • Helen Gym—21.29%
  • Allan Domb—11.68%
  • Jeff Brown—8.97%

City Council At-Large (top five move on to the November General Election)

No winners have been called yet for City Council At-Large. However, Councilmember Isaiah Thomas, Councilmember Katherine Gilmore Richardson, Rue Landau, and Nina Ahmad all gave victory speeches last night. Councilmember Jim Harrity currently occupies the fifth slot. Only the top five vote-getters in the at-large race move on to the General Election in November.

  • Isaiah Thomas—12.77%
  • Katherine Gilmore Richardson—10.98%
  • Rue Landau—8.84%
  • Nina Ahmad—7.88%
  • Jim Harrity—6.31%
  • Eryn Santamoor—5.67%
  • Amanda McIllmurray—5.39%
  • Erika Almiron—4.99%
  • Sherrie Cohen—3.89%
  • Job Itzkowitz—3.28%

City Council 7th District

The race for the 7th District has not been called yet. Currently, Councilmember Quetcy Lozada is beating challenger Andres Celin by 1,600 votes.

  • Quetcy Lozada—60.17%
  • Andres Celin—39.71%

City Council 8th District

The race for the 8th District is still close. Currently, Councilmember Cindy Bass is ahead of Seth Anderson-Oberman by 270 votes.

  • Cindy Bass—50.53%
  • Seth Anderson-Oberman—49.32%

Several of the Row Office Contests Are Still Too close to Call

  • Christy Brady is currently in the lead with 46.96% in a three-way race for City Controller.
  • John Sabatina Jr. is currently beating incumbent Register of Wills Tracey Gordon by 2% in a four-way race.
  • Sheriff Rochelle Bilal is currently beating challenger Michael Untermeyer by a little less than 3% in a three-way race.
  • City Commissioners Omar Sabir and Lisa Deeley ran unopposed and will coast to reelection. 
Share on LinkedIn


Joseph Hill

Managing Director, Cozen O’Connor Public Strategies

(215) 665-2065

Brianna A. Westbrooks

Government Relations Associate, Cozen O'Connor Public Strategies

(215) 665-4757

Related Practices