Cozen O'Connor Subrogation & Recovery: Webinar: The Baltimore Riots: Analyzing the Subrogation Prospects

Webinar: The Baltimore Riots: Analyzing the Subrogation Prospects

Date & Time

Start Date: 01/13/2015
Start Time:

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET
10:30 – 11:00 a.m. CT
9:30 – 10:00 a.m. MT
8:30 – 9:00 a.m. PT

Download Calendar Appointment

 

On April 27, 2015, protests in Baltimore following the death of Freddie Gray escalated into violent riots. These riots caused significant property damage in certain areas of the city. In the aftermath of the riots, questions immediately arose whether any governmental entities could be held liable for the damages and whether insurance companies could legally pursue subrogation claims against such entities.

Mark Mullen and Michael Melusky will discuss:

  • The investigation of potential subrogation claims arising out of the property damage that occurred during the riots.
  • The facts and applicable law that involved the interplay of various Maryland statutes as well as Maryland case law implicated by the riots.
  • The statutory basis for subrogation actions, the impact that damage caps would have had on any such claims, and ultimate recommendations regarding potential subrogation actions.

For more information, click here.




Attorneys

Michael Melusky

Associate

mmelusky@cozen.com

(215) 665-7248

Mark T. Mullen

Senior Counsel

mmullen@cozen.com

(215) 665-2091

Related Practices