Webinar: Flood Claims Based on the "Takings Clause"

Location

Webinar


Date & Time

Start Date: 12/13/2016
Start Time:

11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. ET

10:30 a.m. - 11:30 CT

9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. MT

8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. PT

 

Peter Rossi and Matthew Daniels of the Subrogation and Recovery department present this Cozen O'Connor webinar discussing the "Takings Clause" as it relates to flood claims. This presentation will examine “Takings” claims jurisprudence, and discuss why this developing area of the law may help to form the basis of subrogation claims against government entities that are responsible for temporary flooding.

The presentation will examine “Takings” claims by summarizing a recent Illinois Supreme Court decision, Hampton, that is illustrative of the type of state court decision that is helping to expand these types of claims. We will also examine the U.S. Supreme Court decision, Arkansas Fish & Game, that gave rise to Hampton. Additionally, we will briefly touch on a few state court decisions that are relevant to the discussion, and one federal case currently on appeal to the Federal Circuit.

The presentation will conclude with a discussion of the types of issues that claims handlers should be on the lookout for when adjusting a flood loss. 


Speakers




Attorneys

Peter G. Rossi

Senior Counsel

prossi@cozen.com

(215) 665-2783

Related Practices


Related Industries