Employment Law Issues for Essential Businesses

Location

Webinar


Date & Time

Start Date: 04/07/2020
Start Time: 3:30 pm
End Time: 5:00 pm Eastern

 

While some businesses have been forced to close during the COVID-19 crisis, others have been deemed essential and are dealing with a host of unique employment law issues. Many employers find themselves having to increase staff to handle increased demand, while protecting health and safety, maintaining employee morale, and dealing with increasingly tight restrictions on the mobility of employees and goods. This webinar will provide practical and legal guidance on the staffing issues facing essential businesses still in operation, including but not limited to:

  1. Practical and legal issues surrounding the screening of employees for symptoms and sending sick employees home.
  2. Compliance with “stay at home” orders and restrictions on travel, including suggested letters to employees.
  3. Responding to “sick outs,” requests for “hazard pay,” and employees afraid to come to work.
  4. Dealing with unions during the COVID-19 crisis.
  5. Managing absenteeism under the new Families First Act.
  6. Hiring and firing during the COVID-19 crisis.

To view the slides, click here.

To view the webinar, click here.




Attorneys

Bryant A. Andrews

Associate

bandrews@cozen.com

(412) 620-6506

David L. Barron

Member

dbarron@cozen.com

(713) 750-3132

Arielle Eisenberg

Associate

aeisenberg@cozen.com

(786) 871-3953

Robert S. Hawkins

Member

rhawkins@cozen.com

(215) 665-2015

Michele Miller

Chair, West Coast Labor & Employment

mbmiller@cozen.com

(415) 262-8301

Michael C. Schmidt

Vice Chair, Labor & Employment Department

mschmidt@cozen.com

(212) 453-3937

Related Practices