Sixty-Two Cozen O’Connor Lawyers Named to the Best Lawyers in America

Monday, August 15, 2016

PHILADELPHIA, August 15, 2016 – Sixty-two Cozen O’Connor lawyers from 13 of the firm’s national offices have been selected for inclusion in the 2017 edition of The Best Lawyers in America© (Copyright 2016 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC). This award is conferred by Best Lawyers. A description of the selection methodology can be found here. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. Lawyers were selected for inclusion in the 2017 edition based on a rigorous peer-review that has been developed and defined for nearly 25 years. The current edition is based on more than seven million votes by the top lawyers in the country.

Additionally, Robert I. Friedman, Mark H. Gallant, Samuel A. Lewis, Jeffrey I Pasek, and Joseph E. Tilson were singled out as Best Lawyers® 2017 “Lawyer of the Year” (Copyright 2016 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC); Friedman in Philadelphia for Trusts and Estates, Gallant in Philadelphia for Health Care Law, Lewis in Miami for Technology Law, Pasek in Philadelphia for Employment Law – Management, and Tilson in Chicago for Labor Law – Management.

The full list of lawyers by office with practice area indicated is:


Kenan G. Loomis (Insurance Law)

Cherry Hill

Ira G. Megdal (Energy Law)


Brian W. Bulger (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Jack J. Carriglio (Commercial Litigation)

Richard A. Devine (Commercial Litigation)

Bruce R. Meckler (Insurance Law, Professional Malpractice Law – Defendants)

Steven D. Pearson (Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law)

Joseph E. Tilson (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)


Brad W. Breslau (Insurance Law, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants)


A. Martin Wickliff, Jr. (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Joseph A. Ziemianski (Insurance Law, Litigation – Insurance)


Richard M. Dunn (Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)

Thomas A. Dye (Commercial Litigation)

Susan N. Eisenberg (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Jeffrey D. Feldman (Commercial Litigation, Copyright Law, Litigation – Intellectual Property)

James A. Gale (Litigation – Intellectual Property, Patent Law)

Jeffrey Gilbert (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Bankruptcy, Litigation – Real Estate)

Samuel A. Lewis (Information Technology Law, Technology Law)

Martin T. Schrier (Corporate Law)

Jennifer T. Williams (Employment Law – Management) 

New York

David Y. Loh (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

J. Bruce Maffeo (Criminal Defense: General Practice, Criminal Defense: White-Collar)

Christopher Raleigh (Admiralty and Maritime Law)


Joseph C. Bright (Tax Law)

Leonard J. Cooper (Trusts and Estates)

Stephen A. Cozen (Insurance Law)

H. Robert Fiebach (Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants, Litigation – Real Estate, Litigation – Securities)

Brian P. Flaherty (Commercial Litigation)

Robert I. Friedman (Trusts and Estates)

Thomas J. Gallagher III (Tax Law)

Mark H. Gallant (Health Care Law)

Henry A. Gladstone (Corporate Law)

Edward M. Glickman (Trusts and Estates)

David R. Glyn (Trusts and Estates)

Michael J. Heller (Corporate Law, Venture Capital Law)

F. Warren Jacoby (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Construction)

Matthew H. Kamens (Trusts and Estates)

Sarah A. Kelly (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Raymond A. Kresge (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Bernard Lee (Real Estate Law)

Jeffrey A. Leonard (Real Estate Law)

Deborah M. Minkoff (Insurance Law)

Jeffrey I. Pasek (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

James R. Potts (Insurance Law)

Jason M. Shargel (Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Robert A. Silverman (Real Estate Law)

Jeffrey G. Weil (Commercial Litigation)

James R. Williams (Real Estate Law-Commercial)

San Francisco

Julia A. Molander (Insurance Law)


Thomas M. Jones (Insurance Law)

Washington, D.C.

Barry Boss (Criminal Defense: White Collar)

Robert Fallon (Energy Law)

Marc J. Fink (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Jeffrey F. Lawrence (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Bernard Nash (Administrative/Regulatory Law)

Stanley O. Sher (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Barbara Van Gelder (Criminal Defense: White Collar)

West Conshohocken

Patrick J. O’Connor (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation)

Margaret Gallagher Thompson (Litigation – Trusts and Estates, Trusts and Estates)

William J. Winning (Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White Collar)


John T. Carroll III (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

Mark E. Felger (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/ Insolvency and Reorganization Law)


About Cozen O'Connor

Established in 1970, Cozen O’Connor has more than 825 attorneys who help clients manage risk and make better business decisions. The firm counsels clients on their most sophisticated legal matters in all areas of the law, including litigation, corporate and regulatory law. Representing a broad array of leading global corporations and middle market companies, Cozen O’Connor services its clients’ needs through 26 offices across two continents.

Share on LinkedIn


Related Practice Areas

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from Cozen O'Connor

Enter your City or Zip.

Probably shouldn't change this:
Sign up to receive alerts, publications, and event / webinar invites.

By submitting your contact information, you are giving Cozen O'Connor consent to contact you via email.