100 Cozen O’Connor Lawyers Named to the Best Lawyers in America

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

PHILADELPHIA, August 22, 2017 – Almost 100 Cozen O’Connor lawyers from 18 of the firm’s national offices have been selected for inclusion in the 2018 edition of The Best Lawyers in America© (Copyright 2016 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC). Lawyers were selected for inclusion in the 2018 edition based on a rigorous peer-review that has been developed and defined for more than 30 years. This award is conferred by Best Lawyers. A description of the selection methodology can be found here. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

Additionally, Stephen A. Cozen, James A. Gale, Thomas S. Giotto, J. Bruce Maffeo, Jason M. Shargel, and Joseph E. Tilson were singled out as Best Lawyers® 2018 “Lawyer of the Year” (Copyright 2017 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC); Cozen in Philadelphia for Insurance, Gale in Miami for Patent Law, Giotto in Pittsburgh for Employment Law – Management, Maffeo in New York City for Criminal Defense: General Practice, Shargel in Philadelphia for Mergers and Acquisitions Law and Tilson in Chicago for Litigation – Labor & Employment.

The full list of lawyers, by office, with practice area(s) indicated is:


Kenan G. Loomis (Insurance Law, Litigation – Insurance)


T. David Higgins, Jr. (Insurance Law)

Cherry Hill

Thomas McKay, III (Insurance Law)

Ira G. Megdal (Energy Law)


Brian W. Bulger (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment)

Jack J. Carriglio (Commercial Litigation)

Janet R. Davis (Insurance Law)

Richard A. Devine (Commercial Litigation)

Gary L. Gassman (Insurance Law)

Steven D. Pearson (Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law)

Joseph E. Tilson (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)


Alicia G. Curran (Insurance Law)

Suzanne C. Radcliff (Insurance Law)


Brad W. Breslau (Insurance Law, Litigation – Insurance, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants)


Stephen P. Pate (Insurance Law)

A. Martin Wickliff, Jr. (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Joseph A. Ziemianski (Insurance Law, Litigation – Insurance)


Richard M. Dunn (Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)

Thomas A. Dye (Commercial Litigation)

Susan N. Eisenberg (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Jeffrey D. Feldman (Commercial Litigation, Copyright Law, Litigation – Intellectual Property)

James A. Gale (Litigation – Intellectual Property, Patent Law)

Jeffrey C. Gilbert (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Bankruptcy, Litigation – Real Estate)

Charles C. Kline (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Franchise Law)

Samuel A. Lewis (Information Technology Law, Technology Law)

Martin T. Schrier (Corporate Law)

Jennifer T. Williams (Employment Law – Management) 


Patrick J. Gallagher (Litigation – Intellectual Property, Trademark Law)

New York

Melissa Brill (Insurance Law)

William Y. Crowell, III (Government Relations Practice)

Christopher B. Kende (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

David Y. Loh (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

J. Bruce Maffeo (Criminal Defense: General Practice, Criminal Defense: White-Collar)

Christopher Raleigh (Admiralty and Maritime Law)


Joseph C. Bright (Tax Law)

Dennis L. Cohen (Tax Law)

Leonard J. Cooper (Trusts and Estates)

Stephen A. Cozen (Insurance Law)

Alfred J. D’Angelo, Jr. (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Raymond L. DeLuca (Construction Law)

Jay A. Dorsch (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Bruce W. Ficken (Construction Law, Litigation – Construction)

H. Robert Fiebach (Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants, Litigation – Real Estate, Litigation – Securities)

Brian P. Flaherty (Commercial Litigation)

Robert I. Friedman (Trusts and Estates)

Thomas J. Gallagher, III (Tax Law)

Mark H. Gallant (Health Care Law)

Henry A. Gladstone (Corporate Law)

Edward M. Glickman (Trusts and Estates)

David R. Glyn (Trusts and Estates)

Josh M. Greenbaum (Construction Law)

Howard Grossman (Real Estate Law)

Michael J. Hanlon (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Robert S. Hawkins (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

James H. Heller (Commercial Litigation)

Michael J. Heller (Corporate Law, Venture Capital Law)

F. Warren Jacoby (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Construction)

Matthew H. Kamens (Trusts and Estates)

Sarah A. Kelly (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Raymond A. Kresge (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Larry P. Laubach (Corporate Law)

Bernard Lee (Real Estate Law)

Jeffrey A. Leonard (Real Estate Law)

Elizabeth A. Malloy (Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment)

Suzanne S. Mayes (Public Finance Law)

Deborah M. Minkoff (Insurance Law)

Jeffrey I. Pasek (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

James R. Potts (Insurance Law)

Joseph F. Quinn (Employment Law –Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Frances P. Rayer (Immigration Law)

Jason M. Shargel (Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Robert A. Silverman (Real Estate Law)

James J. Sullivan, Jr. (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

Jeffrey G. Weil (Commercial Litigation)

Joshua C. Weinberger (Tax Law)

James R. Williams (Real Estate Law)

Thomas P. Witt (Land Use and Zoning Law, Real Estate Law)


Brian Balonick (Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Jeremiah G. Garvey (Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Securities/Capital Markets Law, Securities Regulation)

Thomas S. Giotto (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management)

John H. Wilson (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

San Diego

Kevin Bush (Litigation – Insurance)

Thomas M. Regan (Insurance Law)

San Francisco

Julia A. Molander (Insurance Law)


Thomas M. Jones (Insurance Law)

Jodi McDougall (Commercial Litigation)

Washington, D.C.

Barry Boss (Criminal Defense: White Collar)

Robert Fallon (Energy Law)

Marc J. Fink (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Jerry W. Kilgore (Criminal Defense: White Collar, Government Relations Practice)

Jeffrey F. Lawrence (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Bernard Nash (Administrative/Regulatory Law)

Stanley O. Sher (Admiralty and Maritime Law)

Barbara Van Gelder (Criminal Defense: White Collar)

West Conshohocken

Patrick J. O’Connor (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation)

Margaret Gallagher Thompson (Litigation – Trusts and Estates, Trusts and Estates)

William J. Winning (Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White Collar)


John T. Carroll III (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

Mark E. Felger (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/ Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

About Cozen O'Connor

Established in 1970, Cozen O’Connor has more than 850 attorneys who help clients manage risk and make better business decisions. The firm counsels clients on their most sophisticated legal matters in all areas of the law, including litigation, corporate and regulatory law. Representing a broad array of leading global corporations and middle market companies, Cozen O’Connor services its clients’ needs through 26 offices across two continents.

Share on LinkedIn


Related Practice Areas

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from Cozen O'Connor

Enter your City or Zip.

Probably shouldn't change this:
Sign up to receive alerts, publications, and event / webinar invites.

By submitting your contact information, you are giving Cozen O'Connor consent to contact you via email.